Slugger Mentality: Everything Is a Strike until It’s Not!

Joshua P. Nichols
6 min readMar 14, 2021
Source: Canva.com

As I have entered my fourth decade of life, I feel so fortunate to still be playing this game that I love so much. I love almost everything about it! It’s not “just a game” to those of us who have this love affair with baseball; it’s LIFE!

There are so many situations and other aspects of baseball that mimic or reflect everyday life. I hope to write about many of these aspects, but for our purposes in this article, I want to talk about this idea I call slugger mentality, and how it is not only crucial to success in baseball, but also to success in the game of life.

What Is Slugger Mentality?

Created on Canva.com

“The psychological space, unique to each individual batter, allowing for the right type of mental presence needed to give said batter the best chance of succeeding at the plate.”

I am a power hitter. Growing up, I even felt like I was built for the sole purpose of playing this game. I’m 6’3” tall, broad shouldered, and have an average adult weight of around 280 lbs. Yes, I’ve always been a little in the heavy end, but when you’re expected to hit the long ball, being big has its advantages….or at…

--

--

Joshua P. Nichols

Writer of All Things Meaningful | Relationship Expert | Family Man | Baseball Player | Scrubs TV Enthusiast | Wood Carver | Empath